Freight benchmarking for the chemical industry

Freight benchmarking for the chemical industry

Anonymized comparisons of freight costs for improved procurement

Transportation accounts for almost half of the logistics costs borne by manufacturers and suppliers in the chemical industry. So it pays not only to negotiate effectively with hauliers, but also to observe closely what competitors are doing. After all, businesses cannot know whether the terms they have negotiated are truly in line with market prices. Their rivals may be paying significantly less for similar distances and services. As a result, Fraunhofer SCS has established a working group on freight benchmarking for the European chemical industry. The group provides chemicals manufacturers and feedstock suppliers with anonymized comparisons, helping to strengthen their negotiating position and improve their procurement strategies.

Comparing road-freight costs across Europe

The freight-cost comparison is based on rates paid by chemicals manufacturers for road transportation across various distances in Germany and Europe. It includes prices on the general cargo market for full- (FTL) and less-than-truck loads (LTL) of between 0.5 and 7.5 metric tons, and for dry and liquid bulk (tank and silo) shipments. All relevant cost drivers are considered, such as additional services for hazardous materials, the proportion of hazardous materials shipment volumes, and the type and weight of goods. Diesel prices and distances have been adjusted to clearly identify the components responsible for high freight costs.

Country- and market-specific reports

Participating companies receive benchmark findings twice a year in the form of detailed (country-specific) reports plus summary reports on general market conditions. The data is made available online via a web portal. The entire group convenes once a year to evaluate selected findings. At these meetings, invited experts and Fraunhofer researchers give presentations on current market trends.

Comparisons with relevant members of the industry

The Freight Benchmarking Group of the European chemical industry was established in 2005 and currently comprises over 10 leading chemicals manufacturers. These include BASF, Covestro, Oxea, ALTANA and LANXESS Deutschland. Ten years’ experience, aided by the group’s very stable membership, has shown that freight benchmarking offers an attractive cost/benefit ratio and is useful to enterprises of all sizes.

Are you interested in taking part? Contact us for membership details.

More information

Benchmarking Center Nuremberg BMC

For almost 20 years, a staff of scientists has been using tried-and-tested methods and databases to look after working groups and benchmarking programs in all manner of company groups and sectors. If necessary, the key figures can also be obtained with the aid of technology. In order to stay within competition law, we work with our own antitrust lawyer. Join one of our working groups or benchmark your company with others and learn from the best.

Download

Please read also the flyer to get more information.

Frachten-Benchmarking

Frachten-Benchmarking Chemie

Anonymisierter Vergleich von Frachtkosten zur Verbesserung des Frachteinkaufs

Fast die Hälfte der gesamten Kosten, die ein verladendes Unternehmen, z.B. aus der Chemiebranche für seine Logistikleistungen aufbringt entfallen auf den Transport der Waren. Da lohnt es sich zum einen, gut mit seinen Dienstleistern zu verhandeln und zum anderen ist es hilfreich, einen Blick auf die Konkurrenz zu werfen. Denn woher weiß der Einkäufer, dass der ausgehandelte Preis tatsächlich dem Marktwert entspricht und der Konkurrent für vergleichbare Strecken und Leistungen nicht deutlich weniger bezahlt? Mit dem Arbeitskreis „Frachten-Benchmarking der europäischen Chemiebranche“ bietet Fraunhofer SCS speziell für Hersteller und Rohstofflieferanten von Chemieprodukten einen anonymisierten Vergleich, der hilft Einkaufsverhandlungen effizienter durchzuführen und Einkaufsstrategien zielgerichteter zu steuern.

LKW-Frachtkosten europaweit im Fokus

Der Frachtkostenvergleich untersucht die Tarife für die Chemieunternehmen auf unterschiedlichen Relationen innerhalb Deutschlands und Europa für den Verkehrsträger Straße. Berücksichtigt werden die Frachtpreise im Stückgutmarkt für Komplett- und Teilladungen (Full Truck Loads FTL und Less Than Truck Loads LTL im Bereich 0,5 – 7,5 Tonnen), sowie für Schütt- und Flüssiggüter im Bereich der Silo- und Tanktransporte, sog. Dry- bzw. Liquid Bulk. Alle relevanten Kostentreiber wie Zusatzleistungen für Gefahrguttransporte, Gefahrgutanteil, Transportmengen oder Art und Gewicht der Waren werden bei der Betrachtung miteinbezogen. Die Dieselpreise und die Distanzen werden neutralisiert, um die Bestandteile hoher Frachtkosten eindeutig zu identifizieren.

Länder- und marktspezifische Auswertung

Die teilnehmenden Unternehmen erhalten zweimal im Jahr die Ergebnisse des Benchmarks in Form einer länderspezifischen Auswertung, dem sogenannten »Detailed Report«, und einer allgemeinen marktbezogenen Auswertung, dem »Summary Report«. Online stehen die Ergebnisse über ein Web-Portal zur Verfügung. Einmal im Jahr trifft sich die gesamte Gruppe zum Jahrestreffen, um ausgewählte Ergebnisse gemeinsam zu reflektieren. Eingeladene Experten und Fraunhofer-Forscher berichten zu aktuellen Markttrends.

Im Vergleich mit relevanten Branchenvertretern

Die Frachten-Benchmarkinggruppe der europäischen Chemiebranche besteht seit 2005 und setzt sich derzeit aus 12 führenden Chemieunternehmen zusammen. Dazu gehören u.a. die Unternehmen BASF SE, Covestro GmbH, Oxea GmbH, ALTANA AG,  Evonik Industries AG und LANXESS Deutschland GmbH. Sowohl für kleine als auch für große Unternehmen der chemischen Industrie bietet das Frachtenbenchmarking ein attraktives Kosten-Nutzenverhältnis. Das hat die zehnjährige Erfahrung mit einem sehr stabilen Teilnehmerkreis gezeigt.

Interessieren Sie sich für eine Mitgliedschaft? Wir informieren Sie gerne über die Möglichkeiten der Benchmarkinggruppe beizutreten.

Weitere Informationen

Benchmarking Center Nürnberg BMC

Seit knapp 20 Jahren betreut ein Stab aus Wissenschaftlern auf Basis bewährter Methoden und Datenbanken Arbeitskreise und Benchmarking-Programme in unterschiedlichsten betrieblichen Gruppen und Branchen. Bei Bedarf können die Kennzahlen auch technologiegestützt ermittelt werden. Zur Sicherung des Wettbewerbsrechts arbeiten wir mit einem eigenen Kartellrechtsanwalt. Werden auch Sie Mitglied in einem unserer Arbeitskreise oder benchmarken Sie Ihr Unternehmen mit anderen und lernen Sie so von den Besten.