"Business models in the digital world” research group

Digitization of value-creation chains

Is your company successful? Do you have a strong market position and dominate your competition? Are your corporate processes established, efficient, and effective? And yet, even if that is the case, you would still like to know: What are the effects or hazards posed to your business model by increasing digitization? How can you use modern technologies to build on your success?

Our applied research on business models in the digital world means that we have comprehensive knowledge of the potential, the benefits, and the challenges of the digitization of value-creation chains – we will be happy to assist you!

Developing new business models

Digitization is a hot topic these days. The spread of digital technologies and the potential offered by their use are on the increase in all areas of our society. Some examples of digital trends include cloud and mobile computing, the Internet of Things, big data or virtual products. The use of digital technologies and the smart use of previously unavailable information and data are making new business models possible. This leads to shifts on the markets and redesign of value creation processes, meaning that classic business models have to make big changes. Companies have to ask themselves questions such as the following:

How does the current business model look and what chances for success exist for our organization?

How can the effectiveness of our own business model be increased by the use of digital technologies?

Which components of the business model must be adapted with an eye to the future, and which challenges need to be overcome?

How would a road map for the further development of our own business model look if it is to generate competitive advantages?

These are just some of the questions being tackled by the Fraunhofer research group that was founded in September 2014 under the management of Professor Dr. Alexander Pflaum. The new Fraunhofer team is, together with companies, working on suitable solutions to the companies’ business and technical issues with regard to digitization. It also carries out studies and investigations with industrial companies. The fundamental research, which is concerned with the development of business models in the digital world, rounds off the team’s activities. The research group is working on such matters as the development of a methodology to describe business models in a digital context and to measure a digitization index for the production economy

If you would like to understand what is behind digital trends, what the opportunities are for your company, and what added value digitization can offer your business model, please speak to us.

We will be happy to discuss with you how digital solutions can make your company more successful!

Our services at a glance

 

Transformation of business models

The digitization of value creation processes and products means new ways of serving customers’ needs, or indeed addressing completely new customer segments.

More Groups

Optimization

Managing networks and interfaces is becoming more and more complex. We will optimize your networks based on our own planning software, mathematical models, and years of practical experience.

Services

The development of services offers a lot of potential – if it is aligned to what customers require and if companies are able to organize themselves accordingly. We have the methods and the infrastructure for you to make the optimum impression.

Technologies

Smart object technologies promise more efficient processes and new sales markets. We can support you in searching for the right technology, in developing technology-
based services and processes, and in implementing them in your company.

Processes

If you think strategically about logistics, you can allready ensure that structures and processes that are still secure a sustainable development in the future. We analyze your business processes, identify performance gaps and find the right levers.

Markets

Knowing your market is essential to success. We will find you the right customers, support you with investment decisions, draw up new target markets with you, and analyze market trends and developments.

Forschergruppe »Geschäftsmodelle in der digitalen Welt «

»Geschäftsmodelle in der digitalen Welt« – Fraunhofer Forschergruppe in Bamberg

Digitalisierung von Wertschöpfungsketten

Ihr Unternehmen ist erfolgreich? Sie haben eine starke Position am Markt und dominieren den Wettbewerb? Ihre Unternehmensprozesse sind etabliert, effizient und effektiv? Und dennoch wüssten Sie gerne: Welche Auswirkungen oder Gefahren gehen von der zunehmenden Digitalisierung für Ihr Geschäftsmodell aus? Wie können Sie durch den Einsatz moderner Technologien Ihren Erfolg weiter ausbauen?

Durch unsere angewandte Forschung zu Geschäftsmodellen in der digitalen Welt verfügen wir über umfangreiche Kenntnisse zu Potenzialen, Nutzen und Herausforderungen der Digitalisierung von Wertschöpfungsketten – gerne unterstützen wir Sie!

Neue Geschäftsmodelle entwickeln

Die Digitalisierung ist heutzutage in aller Munde. Die Verbreitung und das Potenzial des Einsatzes digitaler Technologien nehmen in allen Bereichen unserer Gesellschaft stetig zu. Beispiele solcher digitaler Trends sind Cloud- und Mobile-Computing, das Internet der Dinge, Big Data Analytics oder virtuelle Produkte. Der Einsatz digitaler Technologien und die smarte Nutzung von vorher nicht verfügbaren Informationen und Daten ermöglichen neue Geschäftsmodelle. Dies führt zu Verschiebungen von Märkten und zur Neugestaltung von Wertschöpfungsprozessen und stellt klassische Geschäftsmodelle vor großen Veränderungsbedarf. Dabei müssen Unternehmen sich beispielsweise die folgenden Fragen stellen:

  • Wie sieht das aktuelle Geschäftsmodell aus und welche Erfolgschancen existieren für die eigene Organisation?
  • Wie kann die Erfolgswirksamkeit des eigenen Geschäftsmodells durch den Einsatz digitaler Technologien gesteigert werden?
  • Welche Bestandteile des Geschäftsmodells müssen mit Blick in die Zukunft angepasst werden und welche Herausforderungen sind dabei zu bewältigen?
  • Wie kann eine Roadmap zur Weiterentwicklung des eigenen Geschäftsmodells aussehen, um Wettbewerbsvorteile zu generieren?

Unter anderem mit diesen Fragestellungen beschäftigt sich die im September 2014 unter der Leitung von Professor Dr. Alexander Pflaum an der Universität Bamberg gegründete Fraunhofer-Forschergruppe. Das neue Fraunhofer-Team erarbeitet gemeinsam mit Unternehmen passende Lösungen, für deren betriebswirtschaftlich-technische Fragestellungen in Zusammenhang mit der Digitalisierung, Daneben führt es Studien und Untersuchungen mit Industrieunternehmen durch. Die Grundlagenforschung, die sich mit der Entwicklung von Geschäftsmodellen in der digitalen Welt befasst, rundet die Aktivitäten ab. So arbeitet die Forschergruppe z. B. an der Entwicklung einer Methodik zur Beschreibung von Geschäftsmodellen in einem digitalen Kontext und zur Messung eines Digitalisierungsindex für die produzierende Wirtschaft.

Wenn Sie gerne verstehen möchten, was sich hinter den digitalen Trends verbirgt, welche Chancen für Ihr Unternehmen bestehen und welchen Mehrwert die Digitalisierung für Ihr Geschäftsmodell bieten kann – sprechen Sie uns an!

Wir tauschen uns gerne mit Ihnen aus, wie digitale Lösungen Ihr Unternehmen erfolgreicher machen können!

Unsere Leistungen auf einen Blick

 

Transformation von Geschäftsmodellen

Durch die Digitalisierung von Wertschöpfungsprozessen und Produkten ergeben sich neue Möglichkeiten Bedarfe der Kunden zu bedienen oder völlig neue Kundensegmente anzusprechen.

Weitere Gruppen

Markt

Seinen Markt zu kennen, ist essentiell für den Erfolg. Wir finden für Sie die passenden Kunden, unterstützen Sie bei Investitionsentscheidungen, erarbeiten mit Ihnen neue Zielmärkte und analysieren für Sie Markttrends und -entwicklungen.

Optimierung

Das Management von Netzwerken und Schnittstellen wird immer komplexer. Wir optimieren Ihre Netzwerke auf Basis eigenentwickelter Planungssoftware, mathematischer Modelle und jahrelanger Praxiserfahrung.   

Technologien

Smart Object-Technologien versprechen effizientere Abläufe und neue Absatzmärkte. Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Suche nach der richtigen Technologie, der Entwicklung technologiebasierter Services und Prozesse und bei der Umsetzung im Unternehmen.

Services

Dienstleistungsentwicklung birgt viel Potenzial – wenn Sie am Bedarf des Kunden ausgerichtet ist und die Unternehmen sich entsprechend organisieren. Wir haben die Methoden und die Infrastruktur, damit Sie sich optimal aufstellen können.

Prozesse

Wer über seine Logistik strategisch nachdenkt, sorgt heute für jene Strukturen und Prozesse, die ihm auch morgen noch eine nachhaltige Entwicklung sichern. Wir analysieren Ihre Unternehmensprozesse, identifizieren Leistungslücken und finden für Sie die richtigen Stellhebel.