Data analytics methods

We use analytics methods and artificial intelligence to extract the unique assets in companies’ data.

Success and added value thanks to data

Our vision: transforming data into critical information and figures

more info

Data analytics – leveraging the right data and methods to find the best solutions

Data – the oil of the new millennium?

Data are often described as the raw material of the future. However, in contrast to natural resources such as crude oil, there is no prospect of scarcity where data are concerned: rather, new technologies and methods for sensor-assisted data collection, transmission of data to the Internet of Things, data storage, data analysis and process integration in the corresponding systems mean that our ability to collect this raw material is growing by the day. As a result, data repositories and streams are multiplying in both size and number – in business environments and beyond.

 

The challenge of big data

 

Because it has become so easy, most data today are collected and stored with no particular problem or analysis question in mind. Moreover, there is often uncertainty among companies over strategic questions about the economic value of data, in particular:

  • Which data are of relevance to future analyses, and which will actually be required for concrete applications? and
  • Which data does the company have at its disposal, and in what form?
Accordingly, companies prefer to store too much information rather than too little.

Consequently, a sustainable and efficient approach to the raw material data is not just a matter of economic importance, it is also a social issue – just like the sparing use of other resources.

This indiscriminate accumulation of data is becoming a real economic and social challenge. The problem is not just that many companies do not know how to deal with the seemingly unmanageable flood of data. Storing and processing all this information is also expensive, besides causing unnecessarily high energy consumption and associated carbon emissions – a waste of resources with consequences for the economy, the environment and, therefore, future generations.

 

Making the right decisions with the right data

 

In an increasingly digital world, companies will be able to achieve ever greater efficiency in processing the raw material data in pursuit of their goals. To this end, they need:

  • the right mathematical, statistical, management and economic methods,
  • increased automation in processing
  • strategic knowledge of which data are relevant to the company now and in the future.

The goal must no longer be to simply collect the largest possible amount of data for potential future processing. Instead, it must be to single out only the most important data sources, which offer real benefits and generate economic value – both now and in the future. Besides process-related and domain-specific technical aspects, the statistical and mathematical relevance of the data is an important factor in this decision.

 

Data analytics is key

 

Distilling extensive and unstructured datasets into fewer but higher-quality data of strategic, tactical and operational relevance to companies, offering concrete long-term value and benefits, does not depend solely on improved technology or sensors for the collection, transmission and integration of data. In order for the information collected to be leveraged in concrete applications – i.e., to turn big data into smart data – it must be processed, enriched with additional relevant information (in some cases from external sources), and analyzed.

This significant field – data analytics – holds enormous potential. Advances in algorithmics in recent decades have surpassed those in the field of hardware by an order of magnitude as far as solving times are concerned. As a result, mathematical problems that would have required 75 years of processing time a little over two decades ago can now be solved in a single second.

 

Analytics research at the boundary of what is currently possible

 

Accordingly, our research seeks to continually improve analytics methods and processes in the field of artificial intelligence, pushing the boundaries of what is currently possible. As a result, appropriate filters and continually refined automated analytics methods will, in future, make it possible to analyze, optimize and act upon larger volumes of relevant data faster.

In this way, seemingly unmanageable amounts of data and related material will be transformed into manageable, high-quality data and information; in other words, the right data, with concrete economic benefits.

How we extract the assets in your data

Data holds assets that are of immense value to companies. These assets must be extracted and given shape – with the help of cutting-edge data analytics methods. With this goal in mind, we continually select, develop and improve the necessary tools to equip companies to deal properly with their internal and external data.

The guiding framework for our research is the SCS Reference Process for Digital Transformation, which reflects the life cycle of data. Based on this framework, we provide our clients with customized methods and data that we find in markets and processes, and then filter, interpret, and analyze. The data are then fed into forecasting, simulation and decision-making models and optimized, in some cases in collaboration with software companies and service providers.

In methodological terms, data analytics comprises three hierarchically related areas: descriptive analytics, predictive analytics and prescriptive analytics. Visit our department website to find our more, and see which methods and processes we can use to identify your internal process data and analytics applications, enrich them with external market data, and support your decision-making with the help of data science and mathematical optimization.

The life cycle of data

The guiding framework for our research is the SCS Reference Process for Digital Transformation, which reflects the life cycle of data.

Practical insights – Focus project

 

Focus projects

ADA Lovelace Center for Analytics, Data and Applications

Data Analytics Methoden

»Ein nachhaltiger und effizienter Umgang mit dem Rohstoff Daten ist nicht nur wirtschaftlich sinnvoll, sondern auch gesellschaftlich relevant.« Prof. Dr. Alexander Martin

Erfolg und Mehrwert durch Daten

Unsere Vision: Aus Daten werden entscheidende Informationen und Kennzahlen

mehr Info

Data Analytics – mit den richtigen Daten und Methoden zu den besten Lösungen

Daten – das Öl des neuen Jahrtausends?

Daten werden oft als der Rohstoff der Zukunft bezeichnet. Doch im Gegensatz zu einem natürlichen Rohstoff wie etwa Erdöl steuern wir hier nicht auf eine Knappheit zu: Durch neue Technologien und Methoden zur Datenerfassung mit Hilfe von Sensorik, zur Datenübertragung im Internet der Dinge, zur Datenspeicherung, Datenanalyse und Prozessintegration in den entsprechenden Systemen kommen vielmehr täglich neue Möglichkeiten hinzu, diesen Rohstoff zu gewinnen. So entstehen immer mehr und immer größere Datenströme und Datenmengen – und das nicht nur im unternehmerischen Umfeld.
 

Die Herausforderung Big Data


Weil es heute so einfach ist, werden die meisten Daten ohne konkrete Problemstellung oder Analysefrage gesammelt und gespeichert. Dazu kommt die Unsicherheit auf Unternehmensseite bei strategischen Fragen zum wirtschaftlichen Wert, also

  • welche Daten für zukünftige Analysen relevant sein und welche für konkrete Anwendungen tatsächlich gebraucht bzw.
  • welche Daten in welcher Form im Unternehmen überhaupt vorhanden sind.

So speichern Unternehmen lieber zu viele Informationen als zu wenige.

Aus der ständig ungezielt wachsenden Datenmenge wird nun eine reale wirtschaftliche und gesellschaftliche Herausforderung: Nicht nur, dass viele Unternehmen nicht wissen, wie sie mit der scheinbar unbeherrschbar gewordenen Datenflut umgehen sollen. Das Speichern und Verarbeiten all dieser Informationen ist zudem teuer und verbraucht unnötig viel Energie mit entsprechendem CO2-Ausstoß: Eine Ressourcenverschwendung mit Auswirkungen auf die Wirtschaft, Umwelt und damit auch auf zukünftige Generationen.

Ein nachhaltiger und effizienter Umgang mit dem Rohstoff Daten ist deshalb nicht nur wirtschaftlich wichtig, sondern auch gesellschaftlich relevant – genau wie der schonende Umgang mit anderen Rohstoffen.
 

Mit den richtigen Daten nachhaltig richtige Entscheidungen treffen


In einer sich weiter digitalisierenden Welt werden Unternehmen den »Rohstoff« Daten für ihre Zwecke immer effizienter verarbeiten können. Was sie dafür brauchen, sind:

  • die richtigen mathematischen, statistischen sowie betriebs- und wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Methoden,
  • mehr Automatisierung in der Verarbeitung und
  • das strategische Wissen um die Daten, die jetzt und in Zukunft für das Unternehmen relevant sein werden.

Ziel muss es sein, nicht mehr alle Daten zu sammeln, die möglich sind, um sie später eventuell verarbeiten zu können. Sondern nur die wichtigsten Datenquellen zu identifizieren, die aktuell und zukünftig einen tatsächlichen Nutzen bringen und wirtschaftlichen Mehrwert generieren. Hierzu ist neben prozesstechnischen und domänenspezifisch-fachlichen Aspekten die statistische und mathematische Relevanz der Daten eine wichtige Entscheidungsgrundlage.
 

Data Analytics als Schlüssel


Damit aus vielen unstrukturiert vorhandenen Datensätzen weniger, aber dafür qualitativ hochwertige, strategisch, taktisch und operativ relevante Daten mit auch zukünftig konkretem Mehrwert und Nutzen für Unternehmen werden, braucht es nicht nur verbesserte Technologie oder Sensorik zur Erfassung, Übertragung und Integration von Daten. Bevor die gesammelten Informationen in konkreten Anwendungen verwertet werden können, bevor also Big Data zu Smart Data wird, müssen die Daten aufbereitet, mit relevanten weiteren (teils externen) Informationen angereichert und analysiert werden.

Und hier – im großen Feld von Data Analytics – liegt enormes Potenzial. Die Fortschritte in der Algorithmik in den letzten Jahrzehnten sind, was die Lösungszeiten betrifft, um Größenordnungen schneller als die in der Hardware. So können heute mathematische Probleme innerhalb von einer Sekunde gelöst werden, für deren Bewältigung man vor nur etwas mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten noch 75 Jahre gebraucht hätte.
 

Analytics-Forschung an der Grenze des derzeit Machbaren


Wir forschen deshalb daran, aktuelle Analytics-Methoden und Verfahren im Feld der künstlichen Intelligenz immer weiter zu verbessern; über die Grenze des derzeit Machbaren hinaus. Damit können zukünftig durch entsprechende Filter und ständig weiterentwickelte und automatisierte Analyse-Verfahren mehr relevante Daten schneller analysiert, optimiert und in Handlungsanweisungen umgewandelt werden.

Aus scheinbar unbeherrschbaren Datenmengen und -materialien werden so handhabbare, qualitative Daten und Informationen; also die richtigen Daten, mit konkretem Nutzen für die Wirtschaft.

Wie wir Ihre Datenschätze heben

In Daten finden sich wahre Schätze für Unternehmen. Diese Schätze gilt es zu heben und zu gestalten – und zwar mit Hilfe von modernsten Data Analytics Methoden. Dafür selektieren, entwickeln und verbessern wir die notwendigen Werkzeuge kontinuierlich weiter und befähigen Unternehmen zum richtigen Umgang mit ihren internen und externen Daten.

Grundlage unserer Forschungen ist der SCS-Referenzprozess zur digitalen Transformation, der auch den Lebenszyklus von Daten widerspiegelt. Auf dieser Basis stellen wir für unsere Kunden individuell Methoden und Daten bereit, die wir in Märkten und Prozessen finden, filtern, interpretieren und analysieren. Anschließend werden diese Daten in Prognose-, Simulations- und Entscheidungsmodelle überführt und optimiert. Dafür arbeiten wir auch mit Softwareunternehmen und Serviceprovidern zusammen.

Methodisch umfasst Data Analytics dabei drei Bereiche, die stufig aufeinander aufbauen: Descriptive Analytics, Predictive Analytics und Prescriptive Analytics. Erfahren Sie auf unserer Abteilungsseite, was das konkret heißt und mit welchen Methoden und Verfahren wir Ihre internen Prozessdaten und Analytics-Anwendungen identifizieren, mit externen Marktdaten anreichern und durch Data Science und mathematische Optimierung Ihre Entscheidungen unterstützen können.

Der Lebenszyklus von Daten

Grundlage unserer Forschungen ist der SCS-Referenzprozess zur digitalen Transformation, der auch den Lebenszyklus von Daten widerspiegelt.

Einblicke in die Praxis – Ausgewählte Referenzen