Research centers

We can offer you not only 20 years of experience and thus comprehensive scientific expertise; we also have the necessary infrastructure to test and optimize your new processes, technologies, products, and even services. Visit our technology and service laboratories in Nuremberg and see for yourself.

JOSEPHS® ─ Die Service-Manufaktur

With JOSEPHS®, the Fraunhofer Center for Applied Research on Supply Chain Services SCS, in cooperation with Friedrich Alexander University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, has opened a “store” in Nuremberg city center where companies can test and further develop their products and services with users and customers. Customers are actively involved in the development, introduction, and marketing of the concepts as part of individual service tests. With the help of scientifically grounded, state-of-the-art Fraunhofer technologies and methods, companies receive as early as possible uncomplicated and data based feedback of their customers.

JOSEPHS® is a project of the Fraunhofer Center for Applied Research for Supply Chain Services (SCS) in cooperation with the Chair of Information  Systems I at Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuremberg. It is funded by the Bavarian Ministry for Economic Affairs and Media, Energy and Technology.

Center for Aging-appropriate Services ZAD

The ZAD (“Center for Aging-appropriate Services”) develops solutions to help both companies and individuals handle new challenges posed by demographic change.

Benchmarking Center Nuremberg BMC

For almost 20 years, a staff of scientists has been using tried-and-tested methods and databases to look after working groups and benchmarking programs in all manner of company groups and sectors. If necessary, the key figures can also be obtained with the aid of technology. In order to stay within competition law, we work with our own antitrust lawyer. Join one of our working groups or benchmark your company with others and learn from the best.

Current working groups and benchmarking programs:

CEO benchmarking

Warehouse benchmarking

Freight benchmarking for the chemical industry

Sales benchmarking in contract logistics

Benchmarking in hospitals

Research Center for "Business Models in the Digital World"

In order to do justice to the business complexity of these issues, the Research Center for Business Models in the Digital World was founded in December in cooperation with the University of Bamberg. In this center, seven chairs work together with the Fraunhofer research group: corporate management and controlling, production and logistics, supply chain management, marketing, marketing intelligence, international accounting, and innovation management. Around 25 employees work on the holistic consideration of solution finding for the issues and requirements that companies have when it comes to developing business models.

Today, the development of new business models is generally connected to issues that include technological factors such as the performance spectra of technologies or the compatibility of systems. In order to provide an answer to these issues, the Research Center can access the skills of the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS, which has been setting standards in the development of digital technologies for years.

L.I.N.K. Test and application center (Fraunhofer IIS)

Since April 2013, technologies and services from the areas of localization, identification, navigation and embedded communication can be developed and tested in practical conditions at the Nuremberg location. The L.I.N.K. test and application center, which belongs to the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS, offers a unique combination of existing technological infrastructure, including expert knowledge, and realistic, near-application test conditions for a wide range of sectors and areas of application.

Kompetenzzentren

Wir bieten Ihnen nicht nur 20 Jahre Erfahrung und damit umfassende wissenschaftliche Expertise, sondern auch die notwendige Infrastruktur, um Ihre neuen Prozesse, Technologien, Produkte und sogar Services zu testen und zu optimieren. Besuchen Sie unsere Technologie- und Service-Labore in Nürnberg und machen Sie sich ein eigenes Bild.

JOSEPHS® ─ Die Service-Manufaktur

Mit dem JOSEPHS® eröffnet die Fraunhofer-Arbeitsgruppe für Supply Chain Services SCS in Kooperation mit der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg ein Ladengeschäft in der Nürnberger Innenstadt, an dem Unternehmen ihre Produkte und Services mit Nutzern und Kunden testen und weiterentwickeln können. In individuellen Servicetests werden Kunden aktiv in die Entwicklung, Einführung und Vermarktung der Konzepte eingebunden. Mit Hilfe wissenschaftlich fundierter, modernster  Fraunhofer-Technologien und Methoden erhalten Unternehmen so frühestmöglich unkompliziert und datenbasiert Feedback Ihrer Kunden.

Das JOSEPHS® ist ein Projekt der Fraunhofer-Arbeitsgruppe für Supply Chain Services SCS und wird unterstützt durch den Lehrstuhl WI1 der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg. Gefördert wird das Projekt durch das Bayerische Staatsministerium für Wirtschaft und Medien, Energie und Technologie.

Zentrum für alternsgerechte Dienstleistungen ZAD

Das ZAD entwickelt Lösungen, wie neue, demografisch bedingte, Anforderungen sowohl von Unternehmen, als auch von Privatpersonen bewältigt werden können.

Benchmarking Center Nürnberg BMC

Seit knapp 20 Jahren betreut ein Stab aus Wissenschaftlern auf Basis bewährter Methoden und Datenbanken Arbeitskreise und Benchmarking-Programme in unterschiedlichsten betrieblichen Gruppen und Branchen. Bei Bedarf können die Kennzahlen auch technologiegestützt ermittelt werden. Zur Sicherung des Wettbewerbsrechts arbeiten wir mit einem eigenen Kartellrechtsanwalt. Werden auch Sie Mitglied in einem unserer Arbeitskreise oder benchmarken Sie Ihr Unternehmen mit anderen und lernen Sie so von den Besten.

Aktuelle Arbeitskreise und Benchmarking-Programme:

Kompetenzzentrum »Geschäftsmodelle in der digitalen Welt«

Um der betriebswirtschaftlichen Vielschichtigkeit dieser Fragestellungen gerecht zu werden, wurde im Dezember in Kooperation mit der Universität Bamberg das Kompetenzzentrum »Geschäftsmodelle in der digitalen Welt« gegründet. In diesem Zentrum arbeiten sieben Lehrstühle mit der Fraunhofer-Forschergruppe zusammen: Unternehmensführung und Controlling, Produktion und Logistik, Supply Chain Management, Marketing, Marketing Intelligence, internationale Rechnungslegung und Innovationsmanagement. Rund 25 Mitarbeiter gewährleisten die ganzheitliche Betrachtung der Lösungsfindung für die Fragestellungen und Bedarfe der Unternehmen rund um die Entwicklung von Geschäftsmodellen.

Die Entwicklung von neuen Geschäftsmodellen geht heute meist mit Fragestellungen einher, die technologische Faktoren wie z.B. Leistungsspektren von Technologien oder die Kompatibilität von Systemen umfasst. Um diese Fragestellungen beantworten zu können, greift das Kompetenzzentrum auf die Kompetenz des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS zurück, das im Bereich der Entwicklung digitaler Technologie seit Jahren wegweisende Maßstäbe setzt.

L.I.N.K. Test- und Anwendungszentrum (Fraunhofer IIS)

Seit April 2013 können am Standort Nürnberg Technologien und Services aus dem Umfeld Lokalisierung, Identifikation, Navigation und eingebettete Kommunikation praxisnah entwickelt und getestet werden. Das Test- und Anwendungszentrum L.I.N.K. des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS bietet dabei eine einzigartige Kombination aus vorhandener technologischer Infrastruktur inklusive Expertenwissen und realistischen, anwendungsnahen Prüfbedingungen für unterschiedlichste Branchen und Anwendungsfelder.